BAYWATCH follows devoted lifeguard Mitch Buchanan (Dwayne Johnson) as he butts heads with a brash new recruit (Zac Efron). Together, they uncover a local criminal plot that threatens the future of the Bay.

Zac Efron tells fans what they can expect…

baywatch movie

How much do you remember of Baywatch?

I remember watching the first episode! No not really, I have vague memories of it being on tv. I remember Pamela Anderson, David Hasselhoff of course…

 

How close is this movie to the show?

We want to keep the integrety of the original series. You know, Baywatch is one of the biggest tv shows in the world ever, so that was really important and I think we’re fighting that combo. We wanted to make it badass though!

 

Who do you play?

I play Matt Brody, he’s the brash young recruit and he doesn’t see eye to eye with Mitch!

 

You’re massively ripped for this aren’t you?

Yeah we had to do this tyre flipping scene, and I had to do a Ninja Warrior course to enable to do it… you know the tv show? I had to do that, which is so cool.  They built a whole course and I made it all the way to the last obstacle and then I slipped. It was great fun.  The tyre flipping scene is part of the initiation into Baywatch, I know Dwayne’s was a real tyre but I don’t know about mine!

Did you and The Rock work out together?

You know what, The Rock is an animal! He’s up at 4am every single day training regardless of how long the working day is.    I did push-ups inbetween takes, you gotta pump up before takes, Baywatch is about achieving a certain look and so we had these bands and we would pump up.  The Rock motivates you to work out, I looked at his instagram and yeah he’s an animal.

 

How was the slo mo running?

Yes… we did do that. A couple of people were running as if it was going to be in slow motion and when we watched it back we looked like total idiots. It doesn’t work if you try and run in slow motion, so  you just run!

 

Why should people go and see Baywatch?

It’s sexy, it’s fun, it’s exciting and it has all the original things from the show that you’d expect. We put in more laughs, more action. It’s about relationships… we start off in one place but we’re really a team, a Baywatch unit and it’s a fun journey seeing that unfold.  I’m excited for people to see it.

 

BAYWATCH is released nationwide on May 31st.

Posted by theversion.co.uk

The Version - Entertainment and lifestyle for the UK